## WORCESTER COUNTY HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY 177<sup>th</sup> ANNUAL MEETING OF MEMBERS

## **MARCH 15, 2018**

Jim Karadimos, the Society's President, welcomed the Society's members to its Annual Meeting and called the meeting to order at 4:05pm.

Mr. Karadimos called for a motion to waive the reading of the minutes from the 2017 Annual Meeting. It was moved, seconded, and approved to waive the reading of these minutes. Mr. Karadimos called for a motion to approve the minutes from the 2017 Annual Meeting. A motion was made and seconded and the 2017 Annual Meeting minutes were approved.

Steve Pitcher, Treasurer, presented the Treasurer's report. He reported that the organization achieved a gain of \$296,547 in 2017 which compared favorably to a budgeted gain of \$365. Admissions and memberships continue to grow to record levels and the value associated with volunteers continues to increase.

In the President's report, Mr. Karadimos stated that 2017 was a breakthrough year for the Society, its most successful in history. We received major funding support from the Alden Trust (\$1,000,000 for our Master Plan Phase 1A infrastructure needs), a \$1,000,000 donation anonymously from a Trustee, a \$1.5 million grant from the Manton Foundation, and a \$500,000 grant from the Fuller Foundation. We also completed the acquisition of property abutting our borders (the 32 acre Kim property and the 8 acre Lucia property) bringing the total acreage at Tower Hill to 171 acres. Mr. Karadimos recognized Joanne Vieira, Director of Horticulture, who will be leaving the organization on March 23, for her outstanding contributions to the Society and expressed the sincere appreciation of the Society to Joann. Mr. Karadimos concluded his remarks by recognizing the increasing cultural and geographic diversity of the visitors and members coming to the garden and stressed the importance of continuing to increase this diversity.

In the CEO report, Ms. Elton reviewed the status of current projects underway based on the updated Master Plan completed in 2017. A beautiful, new entry to the garden on French Drive will be created that will better identify the garden to those approaching the facility. The gatehouse will be expanded to have multiple entrances and will be moved further up Fuller Drive to prevent traffic from backing up onto French Drive. The parking lot will be greatly expanded to accommodate more vehicles and will be developed as a beautiful storm water management garden. Pliny's Allee will be enhanced to serve as an entrance to the new Ramble (Children's Garden) which is now in its final design phase. Ms. Elton introduced Jessica Pederson, the new Director of Education and Audience Engagement and recognized the excellent job that the entire staff did in 2017 to help the Society achieve its fine results. The audience gave the staff a warm round of applause in appreciation. Ms. Elton then asked Joann Vieira and Jeremy O'Connell to come to the podium. Mr. O'Connell presented remarks outlining Joann's long and distinguished service to the Society and thanked her on behalf of the Society for her outstanding contributions. Ms. Elton presented Joann with a beautiful bouquet and the audience gave Joann an extended standing ovation in recognition for her many contributions to the success of Tower Hill Botanic Garden.

Frank Reece was asked to give his report as chair of the Governance Committee. He presented for approval the following recommendations of the Governance Committee:

To serve a first three year term as Trustees ending in 2021 Mike Machnowski, Liz Myska, Kent dur Russell, Pat Gray, Diane Robbins, David Boeri

To serve a second three year term as Trustees ending in 2021 Lisa McDonough, Matt Mattus

To serve a one year term as Trustees ending in 2019 to continue serving as an Officer Rick Leif, Barbara Morse, Howard Peterson, Jim Karadimos, Shirley Williams

To remain as Trustees to fulfill their terms

Doug Radigan, Patricia Gates, Martha Pappas, Howard Jacobson, Stephen Pitcher, Dix Leeson, Nazneen Cooper, Michele Hanss, David Kirchner, Satya Mitra, Frank Reece

Retiring from the Board Betsy DeMallie, Curtis Falzoi, Tom Halpin, Pat Bigelow

To serve as Officers of the Society

President	James Karadimos
Treasurer	Stephen Pitcher
Asst Treasurer	Howard Peterson
Secretary	Rick Leif
Vice President	Barbara Morse
Vice President	Frank Reece
Vice President	Matt Mattus
Vice President	Dix Leeson
Vice President	Shirley Williams

To change the title of all current Honorary Trustees to Trustees Emeriti

To be elected as Trustees Emeriti of the Society Dale Harger, Ted Shasta

These recommendations were approved by the meeting.

Mr. Reece then introduced Patricia Gates, Trustee and a member of the Governance Committee. Ms. Gates presented a list of changes to the bylaws recommended by the Governance Committee for approval. A motion to approve these changes was made, seconded, and approved by the meeting. Mr. Karadimos recognized outgoingTrustees, Betsy DeMallie, Curtis Falzoi, Tom Halpin, and Pat Bigelow and thanked them for their outstanding service to the Society.

Mr. Karadimos declared the business portion of the meeting adjourned at 5:02pm at which time Ms. Elton introduced Rodney Eason, CEO of the Mount Desert Island Land and Garden Preserve who made a wonderful presentation on the history and vision for the land and gardens being managed by the Preserve.

Respectfully submitted,

Richard A. Leif, Secretary